The Adventures of Sir Chester, the Very Brave by James O’Loghlin

Chester

‘The Adventures of Sir Chester, the Very Brave’

That’s a much better title for The Adventures of Sir Roderick the Not-Very Brave because I am the bravest talking bear you are ever about to know.

I may talk like a person but I eat like a bear. And after I eat like a bear, I walk around like a bear and then I fall asleep like a bear. I really am almost exactly like a bear. But like a person I say ‘hello’. And that is exactly what I am now going to say to Roderick.

Roderick has skinny legs and scared eyes but he is a sensible non-bear because: How amazing! How incredible! Of all the Ganfree Banfors there are in the world (at least six or twenty-eight or maybe even one hundred and sixty-three) it so happens that the one Roderick is looking for, the one who is a great sorcerer, is the one, the only one, who happens to live here!

Mister Banfor is fishing in that passive let-them-come-to-me-via-my-rod sort of way that he seems to like and I am very sorry to disturb him but I must because I have found another non-bear.

I don’t think Roderick has come here to fish because he is not looking at the river and he is not looking at Mister Banfor’s fishing rod. He is looking at Mister Banfor. And he has a letter.

Mister Banfor taught me about curiosity and helped me grow some of it in my head. And now it has grown.

And I am curious.

Read about Sir Roderick here


Excerpted from The Adventures of Sir Chester, The Very Brave by James O’Loghlin. Copyright © 2014 by James O’Loghlin.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Pan Macmillan Australia solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Leave a Reply

